The Medical Tag

Hello again! I have been super busy with studying for the MCAT, working, shadowing, and volunteering, but I want to take a moment to complete a series of questions for you to get to know more about me. Thank you @dramasforscrubs for tagging me and I’m so excited for you to read it!

IMG_5520

Who are you and where do you study?

My name is Anne and I recently graduated from college! I am a first generation Vietnamese-American and am 21 years old.

When did you start studying medicine or premed courses?

I started taking premed courses during high school through AP classes and dual college credit at the community college. I took AP BC Calculus, AP Statistics, AP English Rhetoric, and AP Physics. The dual college credit course I took was Psychology.
What made you choose the medical field?

I chose the medical field because I want a career that’s interactive with people, and I enjoy being able to help people feel better to live up to their fullest capabilities. I became serious about pursuing medicine during high school when I was involved in Health Occupations of Students of America (HOSA), volunteered at the hospital, and went on clinical rotations through my health course. I truly got to see what medicine is like and what it would entail. During college I was involved in a premedical honor society, went on a medical mission trip, worked at a medical clinic, and shadowed numerous doctors to be sure that medicine is what I want to devote my life to. I discovered the amazing aspects of healing and trust between physicians and their patients. These experiences fortified my desires to become a physician and since then I have charged full-speed onto this medical journey and haven’t looked back.
How did you come up with your blog name/username?

I decided to go with “love and scrubs” since hearing a friend say the phrase during my medical mission trip in Honduras. It was the last day of free clinic and all us students, in our scrubs, got together with the local health professionals to take a group picture. There was so much love in the air as you can sense the gratefulness everyone in the community had for us during our time there. It was such a perfect phrase to describe the moment which made me sure I want to pursue medicine.
How would you describe your blog?

My blog is an expression of my interests, dreams, and….business! I try to post as often as I can so that I don’t forget the fact that I have a blog, but sometimes life gets busy and my blog will reflect that through the gaps in my posts. However, when I do post, I love to share inspirational stories, motivational tips, and travel advice. My blog is honest, concise, and hopefully an easy read for everyone!
What’s your favorite quote?

My favorite quote recently has been “I’m working on myself. For myself. By myself.” Being on this medical journey, you have to be prepared to work hard to pursue YOUR goals and not other’s. You have to really want it for yourself if you’re going to get through 4 years of premed, 4 years of medical school, and 4+ years of residency. No one can help you do this because everything is ultimately up to you. Additionally, being in such a competitive field, there’s always the downfall of comparing yourself to other people. This is so detrimental to your motivation if you don’t realize that each person has their own timeline and you will achieve your goals when you’re ready! So for now, I am working to improve myself by practicing better mental health, studying for a better MCAT score, taking things one step at a time, and appreciating this little gap year rather than being ashamed as all my friends start medical school soon.
Best memory in medical school?

I’m not in medical school yet! However, my best memory of college was studying abroad in Italy. That was the best month of my life and something I totally didn’t expect to experience. Life is so full of surprises and when you decide to grab it by the horns and face it head on, you won’t cease to be disappointed.
What’s one course you struggled with?

I struggled the most with Organic Chemistry 1. I took the class with a professor that just didn’t click with me because I couldn’t understand his lectures and I just thought he was so boring. I did not do well in the course at all that semester. However, the following semester I opted to choose a renowned professor at my college even though people said he would be even harder! Fortunately, people also said that although his class would be hard, he was amazing at explaining concepts and teaching organic chemistry. Low and behold, with lots of hard work and late nights, I ended up acing Organic Chemistry 2 and it all paid off! Sometimes you have to face your fears, work your butt off, and do what you know is best for you.
What’s your favorite book?

My favorite books are When Breathe Becomes Air by Paul Kalinithi, Gifted Hands by Ben Carson, The Divergent series by Veronica Roth, and Wonder by Raquel Palacio.
What do you do in your free time?

I like to watch shows on Netflix, do arts and crafts, play with my puppy, or go get some bubble tea! Since I have started this blog, I like to write what I can whenever I have time so that I am constantly working on posting something!
What do you want to major or specialize in?

My hopes for right now are to enter the family medicine or pediatric field. However I am keeping an open mind when I go to medical school because those preferences can always change once clinical rotations take place during 3rd and 4th year of medical school!
Who do you look up to?

I look up to a lot of people – each with something different to look up to. I look up to my mom for her resilience and faith. I look up to my dad for sacrificing his homeland and moving to America so that my sister and I can have a better future. I look up to my sister for being the first born in an immigrant family and navigating the world (mostly) by on her own. I look up to my uncle who went from being an engineer to pursuing medicine at an older age. I look up to my boyfriend for his optimism and positive outlook on life. I look up to the people on my Instagram for their success stories. Overall, I have many role models in my life that keeps me going during this arduous path to medicine.
How do you study (productively)?

I study productively when I find the right study environment, turn off all distractions, and have motivation. When the right study environment fits my mood, I can sit and study for hours or all day if I can! Usually these places are Starbucks, coffee shops, library, and rarely is it my house (but it’s perfect for those lazy days where you don’t want to dress up or go anywhere). I try to remove Facebook from my browser tabs, silence my phone, and focus only on what I am studying. I also find it more productive to enter a study session with high motivation. This helps me get through the long hours and makes it feel like it will all pay off in the end. Without this motivation, I get distracted a lot while studying, fidgety, bored, and my brain just won’t turn on.
How do you stay motivated in medical school?

Again, I am not in medical school and can only speak of my pre-medical experiences. I find that being involved in healthcare activities helped me keep up my motivation to pursue medicine. Shadowing, working, and volunteering constantly kept me exposed to the medical field and understand what I was getting myself into. Additionally, I try to pursue other interests outside of premed stuff to maintain balance and be well-rounded.
What are your best tips for future medical students?

My best tips for premedical students is don’t give up. The road will be long and hard. Sometimes you may feel like you don’t see the light at the end of the tunnel or that you’re drowning in the comparison game. Don’t give up. Keep your focus on YOURSELF and YOUR GOALS. Do things at your own pace because everyone has a different timeline. Do not be discouraged when you fail at something. Failure builds growth and that is important to pursuing a field that’s constantly evolving. When you want to give up, think of why you started in the first place. You will get there if you don’t give up.

I now tag 5 other bloggers to complete this questionnaire. If you have the time, definitely check out their awesome pages!

@doseoffluff @omgmdtobe @survivorcarribeanmedstudent @studentdrangela @medicineandminimalism

2 thoughts on “The Medical Tag

Leave a Reply

