In the heart of Rome

**Vatican City will be in a separate post**

I’ve been holding off on writing blogs about the big cities like Florence and Rome just because there is so much too talk about that I have to squeeze in one blog! Thank goodness I kept a travel journey that I wrote in every night to help me remember the details!

For this blog on Rome, I will have 3 sections: famous attractions, piazzas, and food. Bear with me, I have so much to say about this AMAZING place and I hope to take you into detail about everything so you can imagine that you are there with me or plan your next vacation!!

Famous attractions

  • Trevi Fountain – the Trevi Fountain is as beautiful as you can imagine it! We came here on our walking tour guide and had to stop to take pictures. Apparently I learned that the first coin you toss in you’re supposed to wish to be able to return to Rome one day. The second toss is for wishing to find love, and the third is for marriage (I think)! Of course I didn’t know this the first time I was at the fountain so I wished for something probably along the lines of getting into medical school LOL. The second time we went to the fountain I did it the right way and really really wished to return to Rome one day ;). A few tips about the Trevi fountain if you’re planning on visiting, it is SUPER crowded. You will be so lucky if you’re able to get a good picture of yourself without anyone photobombing. You kind of have to be aggressive if you want a spot to sit at the fountain and take a coin tossing picture. People will also steal your spot the moment you get up and it might be hard to get it back! Keep your bags with you because this place is easily the best place to get pick-pocketed. The fountain actually wasn’t as big as I had thought it would be, but it is still as grand as I could ever imagine 🙂
    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
    Trevi Fountain

     

  • The Pantheon – What was once a place of Pagan worship was converted to a beautiful Catholic Church during the Medieval ages. It houses the tombs of martyrs and other important people like kings and queens! It was a spectacular sight to see, and there was actually a wedding reception going on in the Piazza while we were there. The Piazza was packed full of people, and even more crowded inside the Pantheon. Once inside, you could see a beautiful altar, a few pews, and along the walls were tombs and statues of historic figures. The dome was was so big once you look up and so beautiful. There’s a whole history about the Pantheon but I would rather  amaze you with pictures than bore you with details 😉
    13392246_10207986067183899_4054862317435539390_o
    The Pantheon

     

  • The Tiber River
    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
    Piazza by the Tiber river
    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
    Walking across the bridge

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
    On the other side of the Tiber River

     

Piazzas

  • Piazza Navonna – Perhaps, one of the most famous piazzas in Rome is located at Piazza Navonna. The shape of this piazza is oval-like because it used to be a field where gladiators would fight one another. The large building and the basilisk in the piazza were created by two different artists. History says that they became rivals and the statues around the basilisk was made to look like they are defending themselves in case the building ever “falls down on them.” This piazza is very lively and very fun! However, the food here is quite expensive since it is a more popular attraction. I wouldn’t recommend eating dinner here, but definitely spend some time people watching and walking around! In the evenings, I encountered flame throwers and other interesting performances. You wouldn’t want to miss!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
  • Piazza di San Calisto – This is one of my most favorite piazza during my time in Rome (mostly because it was so close to the hotel). Here you can find a really good gelato shop (Fior de Luna), and some very lovely and affordable restaurants. You can also find flame throwers, comedians, musicians, and artists all in one place! It is most lively and beautiful in the evening with all the lights, diners, and little shops. Lucky for us, on our last night in Rome, we caught the last part of a circus show that happened right in this piazza! Then out of the blue we got pulled into folk dancing, and it was the best time of my life.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
  • Piazza di Campo dei Fiori – The last piazza I am going to talk about was known as the “piazza for teens and young people” according to our walking tour guide. Restaurants here are a bit cheaper than Piazza Navonna, and it is pretty lively. On one weekend we caught a market going on there, and I bought balsamic vinegar and coffee! It’s definitely one of the more chil piazzas, and I would definitely recommend checking it out. It’s also super close to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and Piazza Navonna!

Food

Alright, I don’t think I can end this blog without showing you all of the delicious food I ate! Thank you so much for reading my blog, and I hope it was helpful to you in some way whether it was satisfying your wanderlust or planning your next vacay. Until next time!

Much love,

Anne

Leave a Reply

